New Venture

A few opening thoughts on the start-up of my new freelance training and consultancy business…

As the old marriage custom has it, something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue

“Old”… well, I recently celebrated my 38th Bithday so maybe this new venture is just premature onset mid-life crisis?

“New”… Project Four is my new business, “Project” because the bread and butter will, for now, come from my range of Project Training and Consultancy services. “Four” because, as my venture matures, it will provide four distinct offerings. These are:

  • Project, programme and supplier management consultancy and training
  • Personal development coaching (from my work in spinal injury rehabilitation)
  • Corporate learning and development consultancy (poacher turned gamekeeper)
  • Charity training (giving a bit back)

“Borrowed”… well dare I admit that so much training and consultancy relies on great ideas from the past? is the cat out of the bag? but hey, if we can’t learn from our experience…

“Blue”… the brand is blue and, by all accounts, blue is perceived as trustworthy, dependable, fiscally responsible and secure. OK not very “rock & roll” but you need a safe pair of hands when you’re fixing projects, developing yourself or smartening up your L&D strategy, especially when money’s this tight!

I am excited about the road ahead. I have made some great contacts over my past 10 years in corporate training, not least my colleagues at the Matchett Group, and I have strong views about how training and consultancy should work. I’ll be using this site to test some of those and encourage others’ views.

My driving principles are (along with getting paid of course):

  • results orientation
  • integrity
  • humour

In a shameless piece of self-promotion these are supported with endorsements on my linkedin profile.

So that’s the intro. Anyone who has something interesting to ask or add please feel free…and check out the other pages (up on the right) that explain each part of the business in a little more detail.

This entry was posted in Project Four and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment